The Diocese of Oregon is a diocese of the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the United States of America, also known as the Episcopal Church. As members of an international church, we are a constituent part of the world-wide Anglican Communion of Churches.

The Diocese of Oregon is divided into seven geographical areas called Convocations. Each Convocation is made up of specific congregations, and each has a Dean (clergy person) and a President (lay person). The Convocation Deans are appointed annually by the Bishop at the annual Diocesan Convention. The Presidents are elected by each Convocation. The idea of Convocations is a time-honored one that harkens back to traditional Anglican structure, where members of a “deanery” were a Bishop’s liaison, regional representative and pastoral minister.

The detailed ministry description focuses on each Dean assisting The Bishop by serving as a pastoral resource for clergy and lay leadership in their respective convocations, especially during times of transition, illness, or other pressing circumstances. Each Dean will also coordinate meetings with local clergy, facilitate communication and work with their Convocation President (lay person) in convening gatherings of Convocation delegates.

When the Episcopal Church first came to the Oregon Territory (1853), there were two convocations—east and western Oregon. In 1906, those convocations became the Western Diocese of Oregon and the Eastern Diocese of Oregon.

Convocation Index

The Rev. Judith Jones - St. Stephen, Newport

Jerry Jacobson - Church of the Resurrection, Eugene

St. Alban – Albany
Church of the Good Samaritan – Corvallis
St. Andrew – Cottage Grove
Church of the Resurrection – Eugene
St. Mary – Eugene
St. Matthew – Eugene
St. Thomas – Eugene
St. Martin – Lebanon
St. Stephen – Newport
St. John the Divine – Springfield
St. John – Toledo
St. Luke’s by the Sea – Waldport

The Rev. Shana McCauley - Trinity Cathedral, Portland

Mary Shibley - Trinity Cathedral, Portland

Grace – Astoria
Ascension – Portland
St. Stephen – Portland
Trinity Cathedral – Portland
Christ Church – St. Helens
Calvary – Seaside

The Rev. Maria McDowell - St. Philip the Deacon, Portland

Holly Puckett - Grace Memorial, Portland

Santa Cruz/Holy Cross – Gresham
St. Aidan – Gresham
St. Luke – Gresham
St. John the Evangelist – Milwaukie
St. Paul – Oregon City
All Saints – Portland
Grace Memorial – Portland
St. Andrew – Portland
St. David – Portland
St. Michael and All Angels – Portland
SS. Peter and Paul/San Pedro y San Pablo – Portland
St. Philip the Deacon – Portland

The Rev. Patti Hale - Emmanuel, Coos Bay

Kathy Lenox - St. Mary the Virgin, Gardiner

St. John – Bandon
St. Timothy – Brookings
Emmanuel – Coos Bay
St. James – Coquille
St. Andrew – Florence
St. Mary – Gardiner/Reedsport
St. Matthew – Gold Beach
St. Christopher – Port Orford

The Rev. Ernestein Flemister - St. Luke, Grants Pass

Hana Rubens - St. Luke, Grants Pass

Trinity – Ashland
St. Matthias – Cave Junction
St. Luke – Grants Pass
St. Mark – Medford
Church of the Ascension – Riddle
St. George – Roseburg
St. Martin – Shady Cove
Church of the Holy Spirit – Sutherlin

The Rev. Beth Mallon - St. James, Tigard

Cindy Russell - St. Francis, Wilsonville

St. Bartholomew – Beaverton
St. Bede – Forest Grove
All Saints – Hillsboro
Misión Todos los Santos – Hillsboro
Christ Church – Lake Oswego
St. Catherine – Manzanita
St. Michael/San Miguel – Newberg
St. John the Baptist – Portland
St. Barnabas – Portland
St. Gabriel the Archangel – Portland
St. James – Tigard
St. Alban – Tillamook
St. Francis of Assisi – Wilsonville

The Rev. Chris Hertlein - St. James Santiago, Lincoln City

Marcia Kelley, Prince of Peace - Salem

St. Thomas – Dallas
St. James – Lincoln City
St. Barnabas – McMinnville
St. Hilda – Monmouth
Prince of Peace – Salem
St. Paul – Salem
St. Timothy – Salem
St. Edward – Silverton
St. Mary – Woodburn